an evening with the cairo hash house harriers at the sakkara country club

Friday, July 13: This afternoon, I head to the Ace Club in Ma’adi to meet up with the Cairo Hash House Harriers (Cairo Hash House Harriers) for my second Friday walk with them during my stay in Egypt.

This time, we go to the Sakkara Country Club.   Some of us start out by taking a dip in the pool.

The Sakkara Country Club is located in the lush green of the Nile Delta with access to the open desert.  Its location, on the site of Memphis, the ancient capital of Egypt, is close enough to Cairo to provide easy access, but it’s still removed from pollution and chaotic traffic.

Newly refurbished and extensively renovated, the Club is set in lush landscaping which has matured over the last thirty years and with hundreds of palm trees is a verdant green contrast to the backdrop of sand dunes.

Poolside at the Sakkara Country Club

Poolside at the Sakkara Country Club

Hash House Harriers at the pool at Sakkara

Hash House Harriers at the pool at Sakkara

Once everyone arrives, we head out for a run/walk in the desert.  It’s sweltering hot on the sand, with not a bit of shade in sight.

the desert next to the Sakkara Country Club

the desert next to the Sakkara Country Club

me walking in the desert

me walking in the desert

the group walks through the hot desert

the group walks through the hot desert

desert and mini-pyramids

desert and mini-pyramids

the desert with Cairo beyond

the desert with Cairo beyond

We find one tree at the edge of the desert and we huddle under it for its scant shade

We find one tree at the edge of the desert and we huddle under it for its scant shade

After our walk, we head back to the green grass on the edge of the desert to do the Hash circle, drink some beer, sing some crazy songs, and enjoy the camels walking along the edge of the desert.  A cool breeze dances through our little party, quite a pleasant surprise after our sweltering walk earlier.

Hashers at the Hash

Hashers at the Hash

Camels walk along the edge of the desert

Camels walk along the edge of the desert

Wesley, the head hasher, and two other hashers

Wesley, the head hasher, and two other hashers

Ahmed on the right

Ahmed on the right

the group relaxes as the sun goes down

the group relaxes as the sun goes down

Wesley with a camel behind him

Wesley with a camel behind him

Down, down, down.  Ahmed and I have to guzzle our beer.

Down, down, down. Ahmed and I have to guzzle our beer.

Down, down, down.

Down, down, down.

148

nice little pooches

nice little pooches

one of the Hashers gets a punishment for some shenanigans

one of the Hashers gets a punishment for some shenanigans

she gets beer poured over her head

she gets beer poured over her head

Wesley and Ahmed

Wesley and Ahmed

Wesley and me, making a goofy face

Wesley and me, making a goofy face

Wesley

Wesley

the sun slips down behind the dunes

the sun slips down behind the dunes

While I’m at the Hash, R calls me and I’m able to chat with him briefly before we lose our connection. I call him back and talk a little bit longer until we lose our connection again.  Ah, Egypt.

After my evening out with the Hashers, I write R another email.  It is a long and detailed email, but I lose it before I can send it.  Here’s what I end up writing:

OMG, technology is failing me miserably.  I just spent a half hour writing you the most heartfelt email, and then my web session “expired” and the message was gone, just like that!   Then I just got a phone call from someone, and now my minutes have expired b/c of the call I made to you from the desert-side.  So I guess I’m incommunicado.

I wrote so many wonderful things, and I was so happy with what I was writing, I know I can’t replicate it.  But I’ll try as best I can.  I will send the email periodically, so you may get several, to make sure I don’t lose the whole thing again!

I was so happy to get your email tonight upon my return, as well as your voice mail after the difficult hike through the desert.  It made my night! (continued…)

I somehow lost the rest of what I wrote to him.

R writes back:

Thank you.  The original must have been amazing, cuz the follow-up was
wonderful.  We have much to talk about.  But thank you for touching
base on your return.  I’m sorry I missed the cab ride.  I’ll try
harder.

Love,
R

Leave a comment

Filed under Cairo, Cairo Hash House Harriers, Egypt, Sakkara Country Club

Leave a Reply

