meeting the grand imam of al azhar

Sunday, July 15:  Today we go to meet someone important at Al Azhar University.  I’m not really sure who he is, but I think he’s the Grand Imam of Al-Azhar.  If he’s not the Grand Imam, then he’s the Grand Mufti.  As usual, when it comes to these official matters, I am clueless.  I really believe he’s the Grand Imam of Al-Azhar, but for some reason the title Mufti keeps coming to my mind.

We all meet in the conference room at the Al Azhar headquarters

We all meet in the conference room at the Al Azhar headquarters

The Grand Imam of Al-Azhar is a respectable prestigious Sunni Islam title and a prominent official title in Egypt, and is considered by some Muslims to be the highest authority in Sunni Islamic thought and Islamic jurisprudence. The Grand Imam supervises Al-Azhar Mosque and by extension Al-Azhar University and is responsible for official religious matters along with the Grand Mufti of Egypt (Wikipedia: Grand Imam of Al-Azhar).

Someone important at Al Azhar

Someone important at Al Azhar

an important man at Al Azhar

an important man at Al Azhar

a small group shot.  The Grand Imam (I think) is the man between Shannon and me (in the blue)

a small group shot. The Grand Imam (I think) is the man between Shannon and me (in the blue)

The Grand Mufti is the highest official of religious law in a Sunni of Ibadi Muslim country. The Grand Mufti issues legal opinions and edicts, fatāwā, on interpretations of Islamic law for private clients or to assist judges in deciding cases. The collected opinions of the Grand Mufti serve as a valuable source of information on the practical application of Islamic law as opposed to its abstract formulation. The Grand Mufti’s fatāwā are not binding precedents in areas of civil laws regulating marriage, divorce, and inheritance. In criminal courts, the Grand Mufti’s recommendations are generally not binding either (Wikipedia: Grand Mufti).

If any of my Egyptian readers can identify this important man, I would love to hear who he is.  He was in the position in July 2007.

Inside Al Azhar official offices

Inside Al Azhar official offices

me in a headscarf and dressed very conservatively for this visit

me in a headscarf and dressed very conservatively for this visit

Me in Muslim dress

Me in Muslim dress

This evening, I get another email from R:

C,
Thanks for all the emails. And thanks for the details,

Why am I taking cold showers???  Well, Duh!!  Damn, girl.  And you went to W&M??  Yeah frustrated.  And yeah, thoughts of you.  And Moshen and Muhammed, and Ali and Gathbiyya, and every other 20 something stud in Egypt.  And then the brain surgeon!?!?

Hey, sure I enjoy my weekends.  I enjoy every single day the best I can.  Carpe Diem.  But I’m not the one collecting young boyriends like baseball cards. And the brain surgeon?  I was one for a while.  Didn’t work all that well because I only became a good liar later in life.  Ask him whether to saginate the third ventricular cortex or the pineal region when measuring the reach of cancer metasizing from the liver.  If he has any answer at all, try the phoney number.

Glad you’re living each day.  Soo very glad.  But my cold showers are new.  And they have your name all over them.

Well, I wish there was something more exciting to tell about, but, well, there isn’t. Anyway, gotta go cuz I got a new shampoo I’m just dying to try out.  Catch you later, after the surgeon, or the wedding, or Anwar or something.

Stay safe.  I  miss you.

R

p.s., I really do miss you, so much.

Late this evening, I get a text message from Basim, regarding his day at work today and our time together last night:  My day have just finished minutes ago.  Then you can imagine how it was.  Yesterday was quite lovely. Thanks for accepting my invitation.  You looked great in your green outfit.

I am quite pleased with his compliment, as last night I was ready to jump across the table and kiss him.  I’m happy to know he felt the same. 🙂

I text him back to tell him I really enjoyed the evening and I thank him in return.  He writes: Not at all.  It is always a pleasure to be with intelligent nice-looking lady.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a comment

Filed under Al-Azhar University, Cairo, Egypt, Grand Imam, Middle East

Leave a Reply

