last day in cairo: exploring small art museums, mosques and a modern shopping center

Monday, February 15:  Today, once again Ahmed has to go to work, so I have him drop me off in town so I can explore various places.

Someone has told me about a small art museum, so I go there.  It’s a small and quiet place, a kind of oasis in the middle of Cairo’s maelstrom.  I wish I could remember the name of it.  In one room, a beautiful film shows continuously; here is a pretty pathetic shot of it that sadly conveys neither its beauty or its emotional impact.  Maybe because I am quite smitten with Ahmed, this place seems to echo the state of my heart.

a beautiful film in a Cairo art museum

a beautiful film in a Cairo art museum

Later I head to a big mosque where I am to wait for Ahmed to pick me up after his day at work.  Hordes of Egyptian children surround me and happily pose for a picture.

children near the mosque

children near the mosque

Then they agree to pose with me for the picture as well.  I feel so happy today, yet I’m also sad that I have to take off for Korea tomorrow morning.

surrounded by Egyptian children

surrounded by Egyptian children

Ahmed comes to pick me up after work, but only after a huge hassle with my phone.  When I try to call him, I find that my phone has no more minutes on it.  This has me worried because if I can’t contact Ahmed, we can’t find each other.  I run around frantically trying to find a place that will sell minutes to add to my phone.  Finally, I find a taxi driver who lets me use his phone to call Ahmed.  It takes a while for us to find each other, but we finally do.

Ahmed drives me up to Muquttum, where I show him the flat where I stayed in 2007.   While on Road 9, he stops to buy a bunch of oranges.  That’s good because I don’t want a repeat of Saturday night’s diabetic attack.

Ahmed loves his oranges

Ahmed loves his oranges

Ahmed buys some oranges

Ahmed buys some oranges

Later we head to a modern outdoor shopping mall, where we have a lovely dinner at a restaurant there.  It’s quite nice, especially by Cairo standards.  It’s such a lovely evening, and I feel happier than I’ve felt in a long time.

Ahmed Salem

Ahmed Salem

Ahmed Salem

Ahmed Salem

me

me

Ahmed and I having dinner our last night together

Ahmed and I having dinner our last night together

 

This is our last night together and I have a wonderful time.  Ahmed seems to be happy too.  We enjoy each other’s company on our last night together.  Early in the morning I take off for Korea.

If you’d like to follow my adventures in Korea, you can check out catbird in korea.

It’s too bad that everything falls apart with Ahmed after I leave Egypt. 😦

Leave a comment

Filed under Cairo, Egypt, Middle East

Leave a Reply

